Summer recipe # 4

21/12/2008

Harvest Spread

Take several large paddocks of sun-ripened grain.

Add sustained period of warm,d ry weather.

Sift harvester and truck to remove mechanical breakdowns and add sufficient workers to ensure smooth oepration.

Pour in fuel, food and drink as required and bake under blazing sun.


Country smells offend town noses

21/12/2008

There’s a bit of a stench in the Morrinsville area and more than160 people will lose their jobs because of it.

Environment Waikato has ordered NZ Mushrooms to close its composting operation because it can’t comply with requirements to reduce the smell.

If someone wanted to compost chicken manure next door to established homes the residents would have a strong case for complaint.

But the business was there first so my sympathy is with it.

A lot of agricultural and horticultural operations are noisy and smelly which is why they take place away from residential areas. However, development of lifestyle blocks brings people to the country and can lead to a clash between rural businesses and the idyllic expectations of former urban dwellers.

It appears that in this case the regional plan is on the side of the new lifestyle block owners rather than the established business.

The story doesn’t explain why the composting operation doesn’t relocate but if it can be forced to close in one place perhaps it’s not willing to risk having to move again should lifestyle blocks develop in its new location.

And that is the major concern because of  an established business can be closed because of the clash between it and new neighbours in the Matamata-Piako District it could happen anywhere else.

Hat Tip goNZo Freakpower


Four days before Christmas

21/12/2008

Twelve days before Christmas my farmer said to me, “If the wind keeps up the lucerne should be fit by mid-afternoon so we’ll start making hay and there could be a few extra men for tea. But if there’s time when we finish I’ll get the Christmas tree.”

 

Eleven days before Christmas my farmer said to me, “I’m going through to a sale in Central. I should be back in time for the school concert and if I’m early I’ll get the Christmas tree.”

 

Ten days before Christmas my farmer said to me, “When you go into town this morning could you see if the spare part for the tractor has turned up yet, pick up some drench, drop a few cheques into the bank then pay these bills, there’s only two or three. While you’re doing that I’ll get the Christmas tree”

 

Nine days before Christmas my farmer said to me, “We’ll be shearing today, one of the men will be in the shed so he’ll want lunch early, the other should be in at the usual time and I probably won’t be in ‘til after one. But if we get the irrigator fixed this afternoon there might be time to get the Christmas tree.”

 

Eight days before Christmas my farmer said to me, “One of the rousies didn’t turn up so I’ve had to get another at short notice. Would you mind giving her lunch and could you throw something together for her morning and afternoon tea? If there’s no problems getting the sheep in I should have time to get the Christmas tree”

 

Seven days before Christmas my farmer said to me, “The farm advisor’s coming for a look round this morning and I’ll be working with cattle all afternoon, but if the phone’s quiet after dinner I’ll go and get the Christmas tree.”

 

Six days before Christmas my farmer said to me, “I’m going to the sale this morning and it’ll take most of the afternoon to draft the lambs. But they shouldn’t need dagging so when we’ve loaded the truck I’ll have time to get the Christmas tree.”

 

Five days before Christmas my farmer said to me, “If the rain holds off we’ll make a start on the silage this afternoon but it’s almost mid-summer’s day so  if it’s still be light enough to see when we knock off  I should be able to get the Christmas tree.”

 

Four days before Christmas my farmers said to me, “We’ll be making silage again today. It would save time if you could bring lunch out to the paddock and we’ll probably want dinner too – but if we finish early then I’ll go and get the tree.”