Thursday’s quiz

1. Who said: Gratitude is not only the greatest of virtues, but the parent of all the others.?

2. Where in the human body would you find the macula?

3. Whose compositions included Music for Royal Fireworks and the opera Xerxes?

4. The Strait of Gibraltar connects which two bodies of water?

5. If you could eat only one fruit which would it be?

5 Responses to Thursday’s quiz

  1. Andrei says:

    (1) Marcus Tullius Cicero

    (2) The retina (I hope this question hasn’t arisen because you are having issues with it, alas I am a very conscious of my Retinas and their function these days)

    (3) Handel

    (4) Mediterranean Sea with the Atlantic Ocean (the pillars of Hercules)

    (5) I am very partial to peaches though I don’t think I would like to subsist upon them

    Like

  2. David Lloyd says:

    1. Cicero
    2. Retina (eye)
    3. Handel
    4. Atlantic Ocean & Mediterranean Sea
    5. banana

    Like

  3. J Bloggs says:

    1) Cicero
    2) The eye
    3) Handel
    4) The Atlantic ocean and the Mediterranean sea
    5) Apples…

    Like

  4. Gravedodger says:

    no arguments with 1through 4.
    One fruit is very harsh but I would plump for pears including Nashi
    Good season length, little disease problems, easy to store, bottle, dehydrate, very digestible.
    Among my pear trees I have a Red Bartlett, first to ripen, and has a second crop after the Conference and willy bon cretin.
    Havn’t a Nashi and do not know anything about growing them but that crisp taste is sooo unique.

    Like

  5. alwyn says:

    1. Marcus Tullius Cicero
    2. er, um, er. It sounds familiar but I can’t think what it is.
    3. George Frideric Handel
    4. The Atlantic ocean and The Mediterranean sea
    5. Hawke’s Bay apples.

    Like

Leave a comment