Jackson doesn’t want Labour back in Maori seats

Willie Jackson won’t stand in Tāmaki Makaurau because he thinks it would result in a Labour win.

“One of the main reasons why I’m not standing is that I’m very clear that my vote will come from Dr. Pita Sharples. If I stand, Dr. Pita Sharples stands and Shane Jones stands, then I am pretty sure that Shane Jones will be delivered to Parliament,” he said at the start of his RadioLIVE programme.

“I don’t want Labour back in the Māori seats.”

He is less than complimentary about Jones, one of Labour’s leadership contenders. At 2:47 he says:

I think Pita Sharples on a bad day is better than Shane Jones on a good day.

A strong candidate for Mana in any of the seats will take votes from the Maori Party and that split could well return them to Labour.

3 Responses to Jackson doesn’t want Labour back in Maori seats

  1. Inventory2 says:

    Excellent post Ele, which I have swiped, giving you the credit of course!

    But if Shane Jones’ speech in yesterday’s General Debate was an audition for a post-election leadership role (as The Listener suggests), Phil Goff has little to fear from that particular member.

    Like

  2. homepaddock says:

    Thanks I2, I missed the speech but from what you say, I didn’t miss much.

    Like

  3. Inventory2 says:

    Watch it is you dare Ele; it’s especially good for those having problems sleeping…

    http://inthehouse.co.nz/node/10700

    Like

Leave a comment