Facts, future vs emotion, half truths, past

Does anyone but political tragics watch party political broadcasts?

Would even a political tragic be interested in the opening statements?

National’s  showed John Key giving the facts on what has been achieved in the past three years and a plan for the future.

It looked ahead and was positive.

Labour’s started with a history lesson, high on emotion, low on facts with quite a few of what might be charitably described as half-truths.

They then went to Phil Goff’s father and Phil Goff himself interspersed with a few members of caucus also high on emotion and half-truths.

What was interesting was who was there and who wasn’t.

Damien O’Connor, the MP his party valued so lowly he jumped from the list with ill-grace rather than accept a low place, played a major part.

That made the absence of other senior MPs including deputy leader Annette King and David Parker, even more noticeable.

The broadcast looked to the past and was negative.

The Green Party’s by contrast was positive and scenic.

Was there a subliminal message in the co-leader’s clothes? Russel Norman in a light blue shirt with a green tie, Metiria Turei in a red blouse?

This one definitely looked good, pity the policies don’t match the appearance.

If I was a floating left voter, the Greens’ broadcast would have appealed more than the Reds which ought to concern Labour.

7 Responses to Facts, future vs emotion, half truths, past

  1. Scott says:

    National’s broadcast was a disaster. Not for anything Key said (I wasn’t listening because I was so bored), but for the fact it was so obviously cheaply produced. Poor lighting, a feedback hum throughout and an audience giving patsy questions.

    Are the National Party’s coffers empty? I’m sure any film student would have done a better job for a crate of beer.

    I suspect that more than just a few political tragics were watching.

    Like

  2. Deborah says:

    Can’t help but think that your analysis might be slightly partisan, Ele! 🙂

    I admit to being a political tragic, so I watched all of the Labour launch, but I got thoroughly bored by the National one. The planted audience didn’t help. The broadcast just wasn’t engaging, at all. However, I’ll happily admit to having a somewhat partisan view too. I don’t actually belong to a political party, but I do vote left, as I’m sure you have realised.

    Is John Key the only person standing for election in the National Party?

    Also, what Scott said.

    Like

  3. homepaddock says:

    Are you sure it wasn’t your TV Scott? I didn’t hear a hum.

    The party coffers aren’t empty and it does have lots of other candidates.

    Of course I’m biased.

    There’s a less partisan view here: http://www.electionresults.co.nz/national-highlights-key-labour-attacks-and-greens-go-fresh

    Like

  4. Scott says:

    Sure, I know I’m biased too.

    The hum was there. I heard it and a number of others on Twitter have mentioned they heard it.

    I’m not trying to make a poltical attack out of it (okay, so perhaps that’s a little disingenuous on my part). I am genuinely surprised at how cheap their ad looked and how badly it was put together. It looked amateurish, which is not what I expected from a party that probably has more money than all the others put together.

    Not that it matters much in the wider scheme of things, I suppose.

    Like

  5. Paranormal says:

    For the avoidance of doubt I’m a right voter.

    For the opening salvo i think Liarbour won hands down. They managed to show the opposite of what they are. It appeared as if there was a cohesive team and depth of talent.

    National’s was boring and bland. Two things immediately came to mind:
    1) It reminded me of Blenglish woeful 2002 campaign ad. How could they do it again and think it would work this time?
    2) Are National falling into thesame trap Liarbour did under Clarkula? A charismatic leader with no depth? I know thats not true, but that was the immediate thought.

    Like

  6. pdm says:

    I have always thought O’Connor was one of the saner people in Labour but his language was appalling and definitely not appropriate for a campaign opening.

    Like

  7. homepaddock says:

    PDM – that would have been deliberate – that’s how Labour thinks we talk in the provinces, and especially on the West Coast.

    Like

Leave a comment