Mother love lapsed

I couldn’t read the court reports on the trial of the people accused of the abuse which led to Nia Glassie’s death.

The little bits I got from inadvertently listening to radio or watching TV news programmes told me far more than I wanted to know of the gruesome details of what this wee girl went through in her short life.

Then I noticed this headline last weekMother turned blind eye to daughter’s abuse court hears

So I read the story and when I got to this bit: “What would I do? Nothing, just sit there.”  I cried.

I couldn’t understand how mother love could lapse so badly, then Then I thought about the day I got to the end of my tether with my daughter.

I can’t remember what she’d been doing and why I felt so angry about it, but I’ve never forgotten my response. I picked her up carefully, put her in her cot at one end of the house, walked out a door at the other end and screamed so loudly that one of our men who was cutting trees with a chain saw hundreds of metres away heard me.

Then I took a deep breath, went back inside, picked up the toddler, gave her a cuddle and we got on with our day.

What’s the difference between me and those who were found guilty of murder or manslaughter of Nia? Why did I have enough self control to put my daughter’s safety first and why were these people capable of such evil behaviour?

Part of the answer could be in our backgrounds. I was brought up by parents who loved each other, my brothers and me. My mother was the most selfless person I’ve ever known and she taught us all the importance of caring for others. I married a man who had a similar upbringing and commitment to our children and me. We have the love and support of wider family and friends and caring relationships are normal for us.

But our normal isn’t normal for everyone, that’s why some people are desensitised to human suffering, that’s why chidlren like Nia are abused and die and that people who know about it in the house and the neighbourhood do nothing.

Parental love should be inherent because protection of our young is a basic instinct for people and animals. But drug and alcohol abuse mixed with intergenerational dysfunction contribute to a short circuit in that primal emotion.

Each time one of these dreadful cases becomes public, we say never again. But it will keep happening until putting the needs of vulnerable people first is normal for everyone.

3 Responses to Mother love lapsed

  1. Anna says:

    I completely agree. What we experience as normal has a great deal to do with how turn out as parents. I really believe that people who aren’t raised in a loving way often don’t develop the same capacity for empathy that other people do – they really are ‘lost souls’ in a sense.

    Like

  2. bobux says:

    A honest andthoughtful post.

    Like

  3. Nikki Owens says:

    I’m sorry, but there’s a difference between, on the one hand, having a dysfunctional childhood and not having normal parental instincts, and on the other, actively and willfully torturing a toddler for fun. Heck, I didn’t have the most wonderful family life growing up, and sure, there are times my sweet babies drive me nuts, but the idea of putting my son in a hot tumble-dryer or repeatedly kicking my daughter in the head – and LAUGHING about it – is so abhorrent it almost makes me physically ill. These are not just normal messed-up people trying to do their best. These are worse than animals. I keep a picture of Nia’s sweet, trusting baby-smile on my fridge, and it breaks my heart but I need to remember this story and this little life that was filled with such cruelty.

    Like

Leave a comment