Stat time of the month

Tim Selwyn has posted the NZ Blogospehre top-20 for June.

Scrubone has the Half Done stats for July.

Open Parachute has done the NZ blog ranks for July too, with a change in methodology which puts his rankings more in line with the other two.

Being out of the country for all of July with a couple of weeks with no access to a computer had an impact on visitor numbers to Homepaddock. It also showed a relationship between the number of posts and number of visitors.

I’d expected fewer posts to result in fewer return visits but it appears to also have led to fewer unique visits too.

homepaddock
This Year’s Visits and Page Views by Month

This Year's Visits and Page Views by Month

However, while being in the top 20 is flattering, I’m very aware of that quantity deosn’t equal quality.

To stop myself taking too much from my place in the rankings, I note that spam outweighs real comments by about 10 to 1.

If that doesn’t work I look at some of the frequently used search terms which lead people to Homepaddock. They suggest people arrive by accident while  hoping for some very strange things which they definitely won’t find here.

One Response to Stat time of the month

  1. Iain Dale had a similar problem a few years back when he went to Africa with David Cameron, I think.
    He lost about two thirds of his readers in a few days.
    Now he has people standing in for him iof he is away for a long time.
    I guess this is why David Farrar has guest bloggers while crusising.
    You do have to keep feeding the beast.

    Like

Leave a comment