Literature

April is poetry month – I don’t know who decided that, but I read it somewhere  on the internet (exactly where I can’t remember). But I read it there so it must be so and because it’s so I’ve posted a poem a day as my contribution to the celebration of what my OED says is the elevated expression of elevated thought or feeling in metrical form.

I’m not sure if all the 29 poems I’ve selected so far have expressed elevated thoughts in an elevated manner and I’m not sure if today’s choice does that either. But both content and form appealed to me and since it’s called Literature it seemed an appropriate way to mark the final day of poetry month.

Literature by Michael Leunig is from Poems 1992 – 2002,  published by Viking.

Literature

 

The pen is mightier than the sword

And mightier than the literary award;

Without the pen we’d be unable

To leave those notes on the kitchen table:

Nothing lovelier ever penned

With three small crosses at the end,

Made for no one else to see,

The literature of you and me.

 

   – Michael Leunig –

Leave a comment