Word of the day

30/06/2024

Lentitude – slowness or sluggishness.


Milne muses

30/06/2024

 


Beautifying the blogosphere

30/06/2024


Maya muses

30/06/2024

 


Prayer of the Woods

30/06/2024

I’ve always known this poem as Prayer for the Tree, but the video calls it Prayer for the Woods.

Ye who pass by and would raise your hand

against me harken ere you harm me

I am the heat of your hearth on cold winter nights

The friendly shade screening you from the summer

Sun and my fruits are refreshing draughts

Quenching your thirst as you journey on.

I am the beam that holds your home, the board of

Your table, the bed on which you lie and the

Timber which builds your boat

I am the handle of your hoe the door of your

Homestead the wood of your cradle and the shell

Of your coffin

I am the bread of kindness and

The flower of beauty

Ye who pass by listen to my prayer

“Harm me not”