Word of the day

Ides – The 15th day of March, May, July, or October or the 13th day of the other months in the ancient Roman calendar.

7 Responses to Word of the day

  1. Andrei says:

    Is only known from Shakespeare – which is rapidly being replaced by literature with an agendas in our schools alas

    CAESAR: Ha! who calls?

    CASCA: Bid every noise be still: peace yet again!

    CAESAR: Who is it in the press that calls on me?
    I hear a tongue, shriller than all the music,
    Cry ‘Caesar!’ Speak; Caesar is turn’d to hear.

    Soothsayer: Beware the ides of March.

    CAESAR: What man is that?

    BRUTUS: A soothsayer bids you beware the ides of March.

    CAESAR: Set him before me; let me see his face.

    CASSIUS: Fellow, come from the throng; look upon Caesar.

    CAESAR: What say’st thou to me now? speak once again.

    Soothsayer: Beware the ides of March.

    CAESAR: He is a dreamer; let us leave him: pass.

    Like

  2. Andrei says:

    Why can’t I comment on WP blogs with my usual email address I wonder?

    Like

  3. Andrei says:

    Delete these last two Comments please Ele – WordPress wont let me comment with my usual EMAIL Address

    Like

  4. pdm says:

    Andrei – beware the Ides of March..

    Like

  5. Andrei says:

    It an old old profile that I never ever used PDM and now WordPress is forcing me to use it.

    I can’t delete it of course – oh no they have got their hooks into me.

    But not for long – I have an answer

    Like

  6. homepaddock says:

    Andrei – I’ve deleted the two comments but have no idea why you’re having problems commenting. Had an email from another reader saying he was having the same problem.

    It won’t be any consolation but I often have problems commenting on Blogspot blogs with a WordPress address.

    Like

  7. Andrei says:

    I figured out why Ele – years and years ago I looked into using wordpress and built a profile – with my usual Email address linked to it.

    Then forgot about all it.

    But then sometime today some change in wordpress which now demands that you log on to your profile if you are using an EMAIL address that is linked to a profile

    Like

Leave a comment