Four from 40


The announcement of which of the 40 designs on the long-list has made the final four is being made at Te Papa.

Stuff is reporting on it live and has the first of the four:

The first is black and white with a white and black fern:

Designed by Alofi Kanter from Auckland, the original submission said:  

“Just the silver fern. Black and white. On a flag, saying loud and clear: New Zealand. The design is simple and pure, using our national colours. Credit for the fern goes to The New Zealand Way Limited.”

The second is:

Kyle Lockwood’s red and blue with a fern and stars.

The third is black and white with a koru designed by Andrew Fyfe.

The fourth is Lockwood’s black and blue with fern and stars.


The Flag Consideration Panel has a bigger version.



Flag of the day


The Flag Consideration Panel is inviting people to upload designs for a new flag.

There are more than 3000 in the gallery already.

Rate The Flag lets you choose between different options.

The top three now are:

Southern Cross on Black by W. Samuels; A Piece of History by Monico B. Faller, Jr.; and Silver Fern Black and White by Alofi Kanter


Southern Cross On Black (#6501)

This design incorporates the southern cross in the national colours of black and white.

The southern cross is retained in the same position as it is in the current New Zealand flag, with the addition of the fifth star of the constellation for visual balance.

A predominantly black flag would be unique on the world stage, bold and extremely identifiable.



A Piece Of History 3 (#5032)

By just looking at my NZ Flag design, you will remember a piece of history of New Zealand.

The fern represents New Zealand. The left side of the fern represents the North Island and the nine leaves represent the nine Regions of the North Island namely, Northland, Auckland, Waikato, Bay of Plenty, Gisborne, Hawke’s Bay, Taranaki, Manawatu-Whanganui, and Wellington.

The right side of the fern represents the South Island and the seven leaves represent the seven Regions of the South Island namely, Tasman, Nelson, Marlborough, West Coast, Canterbury, Otago and Southland.

The five stars of the Southern Cross represent the first five cities of New Zealand under the Municipal Corporations Act 1876 namely, Dunedin (1865), Christchurch (1868), Wellington (1870), Auckland (1871) and Nelson (1874).

The blue colour symbolises the sky, pacific sea, peace and serenity. The white colour symbolises purity and cleanliness. The green colour symbolises the nature, trees, forests, grass, etc.


Silver Fern Black & White (#9991)

Just the Silver Fern. Black and white. On a flag 1:2. Saying loud and clear: New Zealand.

The concept is similar to that of Kyle Lockwood. This design is simple and pure, without added stars, using the national colour instead of traditional ones.

%d bloggers like this: