Why not go all the way?

Land Information New Zealand has given twenty-two places from Fiordland to the East Cape both English and Māori names.

The full list of names are:

  • Tamatea / Dusky Sound
  • Te Awaroa / Long Sound
  • Te Korowhakaunu / Cunaris Sound
  • Moana-whenua-pōuri / Edwardson Sound
  • Te Rā / Dagg Sound
  • Te Puaitaha / Breaksea Sound
  • Kaikiekie / Bradshaw Sound
  • Te Houhou / George Sound
  • Te Hāpua / Sutherland Sound
  • Te Awa-o-Tū / Thompson Sound
  • Taitetimu / Caswell Sound
  • Taiporoporo / Charles Sound
  • Taiari / Chalky Inlet
  • Rakituma / Preservation Inlet
  • Hāwea / Bligh Sound
  • Hinenui / Nancy Sound
  • Maniaiti / Benneydale
  • Tūranganui-a-Kiwa / Poverty Bay
  • Puhi Kai Iti / Cook Landing National Historic Reserve
  • Wharekahika / Hicks Bay
  • Whangaokeno / East Island

Why not go all the way and have only Maori names?

It might need a transition period with both names until people become familiar with the Maori names, but the longer the names the greater the temptation to shorten them will be.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: