Magnum has launched a vegan alternative to ice cream:
This February, Magnum launches its first ever vegan ice cream; Magnum Dairy Free.
Expertly crafted for 100% pleasure, Magnum Dairy Free combines smooth velvety vanilla ice cream and thick cracking chocolate, providing Magnum’s signature cracking experience but all in a new vegan format.
As indulgent as it is innovative, the new recipe is uncompromising on taste, using only the highest quality plant-based ingredients and is certified by the Vegan Association. . .
Indulgent it might be but ice cream it isn’t.
Note In this Code (see section 1.1.2—3):
ice cream means a sweet frozen food that is made from cream or milk products or both, and other foods, and is generally aerated.
A food that is sold as ‘ice cream’ must:
(a) be ice cream; and
(b) contain no less than:
(i) 100 g/kg of milk fat; and
(ii) 168 g/L of food solids.
Vegan ice cream is oxymoronic.
If it’s vegan it doesn’t contain milk fat and if it doesn’t contain milk fat it’s not ice cream.
They can call it a frozen confection, any of the other names used for non dairy alternatives already in use, or make up their own name, but they can’t call it ice cream because it isn’t.