Bermulanders backing Team NZ

My parents might not have met had my father not been a sailor.

He capsized his yacht one day and was picked up by a man whose wife was a nurse who arranged a blind date for the rescued yachtie and a nursing friend who became my mother.

My brothers inherited Dad’s love of sailing but my love of the sea is for swimming in rather than sailing on.

Not being a sailor hasn’t stopped me marvelling at the design and performance of the Americas Cup yachts and the skill of the crews.

Though my excitement over the strong start Team NZ made was tempered with the memory of the way an apparently unassailable lead turned into a loss in the last challenge.

Today’s results – one win to NZ, one to the USA, adds to the tension.

But last time we didn’t have the Bermulanders on our side.

Leave a Reply

