Rad Dad PM without politics

Rad Dads’s opens its series on fathers talking about fatherhood with Prime Minister Bill English:

Will Fleming and Greg Buckley kick into the first RadDads episode to talk with Prime Minister Bill English not about politics, but about being a dad.

The politician reveals he is a pro with a cloth nappy and a safety pin, having changed nappies for about 15 years. “I am really good at it.”

In the days before disposables were as widely used as they are now, folding nappies and changing them without sticking the pin into the baby were an art.

Separating politics and family is important for English. “I’ve always gone home for tea from The Beehive, I’ve never eaten at The Beehive… I don’t do much of the cocktail stuff…. but I want to be home.”

At home he leaves politics at the door “When I’m at home it’s not about me it’s about this household and what I can do to support then and help fulfil my role.

“Cleaning up, getting the dishes done, getting the kids to bed… I enjoyed the work of being busy in a family.”

As a father of six children he says his best piece of advice to new dads is savour the moment of the baby’s birth.

“Keep that moment. You get to hold the baby and the mother is there and it’s an experience you can’t prepare for. There’s going to be so many times when this looks hard and it is, so keep that moment.”

The video on the link above has more.

 

Leave a Reply

