366 days of gratitude

Getting Canadian dollars for a Christmas gift for someone going skiing there next year was a really good idea.

It came to me a few weeks ago but I didn’t get around to going to the bank until Wednesday when I found the ANZ didn’t have any on hand and couldn’t get any by today.

I tried the other two banks in town yesterday and they too said they couldn’t get any until next week.

I decided I’d just have to give an IOU but hadn’t been home long when the phone rang.

It was a teller from the ANZ asking if I still wanted Canadian money because someone had just come in to exchange their dollars for some of ours.

I went back to the bank today, exchanged the cash and as a bonus was told to help myself to a piece of Christmas cake on the way out.

That is very good service and I’m grateful for it.

2 Responses to 366 days of gratitude

  1. Paranormal says:

    That is exceptional service. I suspect it’s also related to living in a smaller community where there is more personal service. Something you see far less of in the larger cities.

  2. David says:

    Banks actually detest holding foreign currencies in the form of cash so will go to great lengths to ensure that they have the minimum in the safe over a holiday period.

Leave a Reply

