366 days of gratitude

I first came across Robert Fulghum in Christchurch airport’s bookshop when I was waiting to board a plane for a flight which had been delayed.

The Storyteller’s Creed at the start of All I really Need to Know I learned in Kindergarten resonated with me:

I believe that imagination is stronger than knowledge. That myth is more potent than history. That dreams are more powerful than facts. That hope always triumphs over experience. That laughter is the only cure for grief. And I believe that love is stronger than death.

I bought the book and became a fan of his gift for seeing and writing about an extraordinary perspective on ordinary things.

On the home page of his website he writes:

Often, without realizing it, we fill important places in each other’s lives. It’s that way with the guy at the corner grocery, the mechanic at the local garage, the family doctor, teachers, coworkers, and neighbors. Good people who are always “there,” who can be relied upon in small, ordinary ways. People who, by example, teach us, bless us, encourage us, support us, uplift us in the daily-ness of life.

I want to be one of those.

You may be one of those, yourself. There are those who depend on you, watch you, learn from you, are inspired by you, and count on you being in their world. You may never have proof of your importance to them, but you are more important than you may think. There are those who couldn’t do without you. The rub is that you don’t always know who. We seldom make this mutual influence clear to each other. But being aware of the possibility that you are useful in this world is the doorway into assuring that will come to be true.

Today I’m grateful for the people who fill important places in my life, those who know me and those, like Robert, who don’t.

Leave a Reply

