366 days of gratitude

When I think of how old people  when I was a child I see the ladies at church in their black or navy blue formal dresses and coats with gloves and sensible shoes.

Most of them probably weren’t much older than I am now but their clothes indicated retirement not in the sense of not working but in the sense of withdrawal.

Women far older than these women were now wear bright colours and clothes which don’t constrain suggesting they are still active and engaged in life.

Whether fashion enables, or merely reflects, different lifestyle, it gives older women freedom and choices many of those a couple of generations behind me, constrained in foundation garments and by society’s expectations, didn’t appear to have and I’m grateful for that.

2 Responses to 366 days of gratitude

  1. Andrei says:

    When I think of how old people when I was a child I see the ladies at church in their black or navy blue formal dresses and coats with gloves and sensible shoes.

    And the old ladies of my childhood who were widows wore black until the day they died

    My eldest daughter’s Godmother was widowed when she was 34 years old and did this, she died about 2004

    I thought it was beautiful, still do but you don’t see it anymore

  2. paul scott says:

    Good post Ele.
    I am fairly sure that the relative costs of clothes has become less. Also the time we expect a piece of clothing to last.
    To take an extreme, a girl over here in Bangkok went out to buy me some shirts three months ago. About 250 baht, $12 each
    Last week she said ‘You need some more shirts, those are old now ‘
    Its scary,, I have yellow and purple shirts sitting beside my grey and white stripes, its like a light acid trip in your mother’s bedroom.

Leave a Reply

