366 days of gratitude

My paternal grandfather died when my father was only six.

I never asked him who his role model was or if he learned to be a good father by trial and error because he was a good father.

My brothers and I were never in doubt that he loved our mother and us and together they gave us a happy childhood, set us boundaries, made us face consequences when we breached them, modelled a strong work ethic, compassion, consideration for others, loyalty and honesty; and encouraged us to be independent.

Dad wasn’t as involved in our childhood as many fathers are today, but it’s important not to judge what happened in the past by today’s expectations.

As Lindsay Mitchell reminds us, We should stop giving the baby boomer and baby boomer’s dads a bad rap. Mostly they stuck around, come hell or high water. To me, that is the ultimate expression of care for a child.

Not everyone was or is blessed by a good father, by yesterday’s or today’s standards but thankfully most of us are and today I”m grateful for good fathers.

One Response to 366 days of gratitude

  1. george agak says:

    I do say having an attitude of gratitude catapults you to the greatest altitude. unlike you my biological father never stuck…as a matter of fact I’ve never even seen him. my mother died when I was only 8 but I had a family that raised me just right. just to set things straight, I still battle Identity crisis. this touched me, that you take the time to thank a father for what he did right..great, seeing beyond his flaws

Leave a Reply

