366 days of gratitude

The recipe for Riverstone Kitchen’s chocolate cake I was making said put all ingredients into a bowl, mix on low speed for three minutes and then high speed for 30 seconds.

I did that, peered in the bowl and saw little blobs of something that hadn’t mixed properly.

Uh oh. It was butter which the recipe said must be warmed and which obviously wasn’t warm enough when I’d added it to the rest of the ingredients.

I was reluctant to waste all the other ingredients so I got a sieve and forced the mixture through it.

I was left with little bits of butter in the sieve but the cake batter looked okay so I put it in the oven.

An hour later it had risen as it was supposed to and smelled delicious.

It’s now sitting on the bench waiting to cool enough to ice.

I wouldn’t recommend my method for the recipe but it worked this time and for that I’m grateful.

Leave a Reply

