Quote of the day

The world breaks everyone, and afterward, some are strong at the broken places. –  Ernest Hemingway who was born on this day in 1899.

8 Responses to Quote of the day

  1. Andrei says:

    Ernest Hemingway killed himself by blowing his brains out with a shotgun, of course

    It makes this quote um ironic?

  2. homepaddock says:

    I’d forgotten that and it does make the quote ironic.

  3. Will says:

    Not really. I seem to remember there is more to that quote, what you have posted is incomplete. It’s from ‘Farewell To Arms’ if memory serves.

  4. homepaddock says:

    Will – you’re right on both counts: it was from ‘Farewell to Arms’ and not ironic in full – https://en.wikiquote.org/wiki/Ernest_Hemingway :

    “The world breaks everyone and afterward many are strong at the broken places. But those that will not break it kills. It kills the very good and the very gentle and the very brave impartially. If you are none of these you can be sure it will kill you too but there will be no special hurry.”

  5. Will says:

    Cheers Ele, I’m afraid I was too lazy to look it up and couldn’t quite recall it exactly. Farewell to Arms is rather bleak and reflects the author’s disillusionment with war. But I don’t think his suicide should be seen as a surrender to despair. He lived life on his own terms until that was no longer possible, acted decisively.

    Perhaps I am biased. He is one of my very favourite writers, I’ve read all his stuff. ‘The Old Man and the Sea’ has got me through a few desperate years on the farm when Old Mother Nature flexes her muscles.

  6. Andrei says:

    He is one of my very favourite writers,

    Snap

    When I encountered “The Old Man and the Sea” I couldn’t put it down – I was about 14 I think and read it in one hit

  7. JC says:

    Hemingway’s father, brother and sister all committed suicide. Earnest and his father were both diagnosed (near the end) with hemochromatosis which causes both physical and mental deterioration.

    Its not a long stretch to suggest the disease as the real killer.

    Agree about the Old Man and the Sea.. I read it as a young man and well remember its effect.. that lovely sentence structure and simple words was captivating.

    The other writer I got pleasure from back then for his use of English was Joseph Conrad.

    JC

  8. Andrei says:

    The other writer I got pleasure from back then for his use of English was Joseph Conrad

    Yes and yet amazingly his spoken English was apparently atrocious

Leave a Reply

