366 days of gratitude

The radio was the background to my childhood.

Among my early memories is listening to a children’s programme, possibly listen with Mother?,  before I started school and  later, coming home from school to the sound of The Archers.

Every Sunday morning my brothers and I got up to listen to children’s requests, mostly stories from the USA like Sparky and the Talking Train, The Lone Ranger, Toot the Little Tug Boat and the one about a train whose name I’ve forgotten but the line from which, I think I can, I think I can, I know I can . . . is embedded in my memory.

As I got older request sessions in the evening featured pop tunes and by then talk back had arrived.

In those days the state owned all the radio stations – the YA and ZB networks.

These days we have much more choice and I’m grateful for that.

One Response to 366 days of gratitude

  1. The train is “The little engine that could”.

Leave a Reply

