366 days of gratitude

Mid afternoon I was enjoying a book when our daughter suggested we go for a walk.

Not just any walk but one which would involve about an hour up a steepish hill and, owing to the gradient, nearly as long coming down.

I hesitated – a couple of relaxing hours reading vs the same time going up and down a hill made it very tempting to say no.

I said yes and while I huffed and puffed my way up I did have the odd moment wondering why.

But the view at the top and conversation coming down (I can walk, talk and breathe on the flat or downhill but manage only two of those three going up and it’s the talking which gets dropped) made it worthwhile.

Today I’m grateful for the suggestion of a stiff walk and the enjoyment of having done it.

Leave a Reply

