Victoria Wood 19.5.53 – 20.4.16

The multi-talented Victoria Wood has died.

Victoria Wood – who has died at the age of 62 – was one of the UK’s best-loved entertainers with a career spanning more than four decades.

A Bafta award-winning comedian, actor, singer and writer, Wood was probably best known for her 1980s comedy series Victoria Wood: As Seen On TV and for her on-screen partnership with Julie Walters in the comedy sketch series Wood and Walters.

She wrote and starred in the hit BBC sitcom Dinnerladies and branched out into drama – writing and starring in the 2006 World War Two ITV drama Housewife, 49 – an adaptation of the diaries of Nella Last – which earned her two Baftas.

Wood was also popular for her live stand-up comedy shows, which were interspersed with her own compositions accompanied on the piano.

Made an OBE in 1997 and then a CBE later in 2008, Wood’s much-admired talent lay in her brand of humour which was grounded in everyday life – full of astute observations of popular culture and the mundane elements of life. . . 

The Poke has 21 of her best one liners which include:

 

  • We’d like to apologise to our viewers in the north…………it must be awful for them.
  • A man is designed to walk three miles in the rain to phone for help when the car breaks down, and a woman is designed to say, “You took your time” when he comes back dripping wet. . .
  • I haven’t got a waist. I’ve just got a sort of place, a bit like an unmarked level crossing.
  • I once went to one of those parties where everyone throws their car keys into the middle of the room. I don’t know who got my moped but I’ve been driving that Peugeot for years.
  • The first day I met my producer, she said, “I’m a radical feminist lesbian.” I thought what would the Queen Mum do? So I just smiled and said, “We shall have fog by tea-time.” . .
  • I’ve got a degree, does that mean I have to spend my life with intellectuals? I’ve also got a life-saving certificate, but I don’t spend my evenings diving for a rubber brick with my pyjamas on. . .

 

Leave a Reply

