366 days of gratitude

The first time I came across Parmesan cheese I was waitressing in Whitianga during the university’s summer break.

I don’t remember which dish it was served on but I do remember being told to explain to diners who might order it that they shouldn’t worry if the cheese smelt a bit like vomit, it tasted much better.

Surprisingly after that some did try it.

That was a few decades ago when Parmesan was a foreign taste. Now it’s a familiar one and I use it often to add more flavour with less cheese.

It usually comes in small blocks but I rarely use it all in one go so grate what’s left and freeze it.

Tonight I’ve tossed potatoes in a mixture of Parmesan, thyme, paprika and black pepper. Placed in a lightly oiled dish and baked until golden they’ll be a tasty accompaniment to cold lamb, baked tomatoes, courgettes and broccoli.

Today I’m grateful that tastes which once were foreign are now familiar and enjoyed.

3 Responses to 366 days of gratitude

  1. Freddie says:

    And a big uptick to you. Love Parmesano.
    Will try your baked potato recipe sometime soon !

  2. homepaddock says:

    Try about 2 tablespoons of Parmesan, 1/2 teaspoon of thyme and half teaspoon of paprika. If you like a bite you can add 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne pepper too.

  3. Mr E says:

    I am grateful for the reminder of how versatile potatoes can be when I have been a a boring potato routine.

Leave a Reply

