366 days of gratitude

The sign a few hundred metres from our house signalling a right-hand bend has been knocked over.

I noticed it on my walk this morning and phoned the District Council to report it.

I was expecting to have to go through at least a couple of people before getting to where I needed to be. But the woman who took the call asked me for the details and said she’d pass all the information on to the people who would replace the pole.

Today I’m grateful for a real person at the end of the phone who was both willing and able to deal with my report efficiently.

2 Responses to 366 days of gratitude

  1. Gravedodger says:

    Now we await the news of its reinstatement for proof that your good public duty has been rewarded. I am not going to hold my breath.

    Our narrow access shingle city road was devastated in the Easter floods of 2014 and only became safish at New year 2016 with the last washout culvert being narrowed by signage that removed the real possibility of a drunk Dodger ending up nose dived into a gaping hole. Oh there were a succession of witches hats placed to mark the complained about danger but they soon were rolled into the chasm by traffic and or wind.
    No records retained but I would claim at least four official notifications were filed with the local service centre during the 20 months of relative inaction.

  2. I rang the council when a road needed graded and they came the next day. Probably the same person on the end of the phone! Good public service is a breath of fresh air!

Leave a Reply

