Thursday’s quiz

1. Who said: The one pervading evil of democracy is the tyranny of the majority, or rather of that party, not always the majority, that succeeds, by force or fraud, in carrying elections.?

2. In what year did women in New Zealand gain the right to vote?

3.  In which year did New Zealand first vote under MMP?

4.  Name two of New Zealand’s three longest serving Prime Ministers/Premiers.

5. How many years should each of our parliamentary terms be?

5 Responses to Thursday’s quiz

  1. Rob says:

    1. Edmund Burke or JS Mill, not sure which.

    2. 1893

    3. 1996

    4. Seddon’s the longest, then Massey and Holyoake.

    5. Four years.


  2. Andrei says:

    1) Lord Acton

    2) 1893

    3) 1996

    4) Holyoake, Seddon, Clark

    5) five minutes


  3. Gravedodger says:

    Well said Rob my only change is to omit Burke.


  4. alwyn says:

    1. Lord Acton
    2. 1893. Sigh, a downhill trend ever since.
    3. 1996
    4. They would have to be Seddon, Massey and Holyoake. I don’t know what order they would have been.
    5. Four years. That way we could change the Government after 8 years, and the Prime Minister after 7 fairly easily. All Governments, and PMs currently get arrogant and/or tired in their third terms.


  5. J Bloggs says:

    2) 1893
    3) 1996 (the last time I voted for the Mcgillycuddy serious party)
    4) Seddon, Massey, Holyoake – in that order (alywn beat me to it)
    5) I’m happy with three years – sometimes the urge to get rid of a party can’t come soon enough


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: