And the mayor is . . .

Lianne Dalziel has been confirmed as mayor of Christchurch with 70% of the vote.

Long-serving Labour MP Lianne Dalziel has a new job as mayor of Christchurch after securing around 50,000 votes more than her nearest rival.

In what many regarded as a foregone conclusion Dalziel convincingly won Christchurch’s mayoraty race with around 70,000 votes, preliminary results show.

Her closest rival, Christchurch businessman Paul Lonsdale, got around 22,000 votes. . .

Early results show that Auckland mayor Len Brown will be returned.

. . . A spokesman from Auckland Council confirmed the “progress result” had counted 148,944 votes in favour of Mr Brown.

His closest competitor, John Palino, had earned 98,930 votes. . . .

I will update this post as results come in and welcome your updates in the comments.


Former Northland  MP John Carter has won the Far North mayoralty from Wayne Brown.

Mr Carter resigned as New Zealand High Commissioner to the Cook Islands in July to return to his home in the Far North and contest the mayoralty.

Defeated mayor Wayne Brown, who has served two terms, said he had phoned Mr Carter to offer his congratulations. He said he was sure the former MP would do his best for the Far North – and he is only a phone call away if the new mayor wants any support. . .

Former councillor Sheryl Mai is the new Whanagrai mayor.

. . . Ms Mai won 4897 votes in the preliminary count, more than 1100 ahead of her nearest rival, councillor Greg Martin. . .

Hamilton mayor Julie Hardaker has won a second term, beating her nearest rival, Ewan Wilson, by 2770 votes.

Napier has a new mayor – Bill Dalton who gained  more than double the votes of this nearest rival, Roy Sye.

Rachel Reese has made history by becoming Nelson’s first woman mayor, taking the mayoralty by almost 1500 votes from Aldo Miccio.


Gary Kircher has won the Waitaki District mayoralty. His biggest rival Jim Hopkins also stood for the council and topped the poll in the Oamaru ward.

Tim Shadbolt has been returned as mayor of Invercargill.

With six terms as mayor, and two previous terms in control at Waitemata City, Shadbolt is the longest-serving mayor in office in the country.. . .

Farmer Mike Havill is the new mayor of the Westland district.

Richard Kempthorne has been returned for a third term as Tasman District Mayor.

Brendan Duffy has won the mayoral race in Horowhenua.

Ross Paterson is Mayor of the Western Bay of Plenty again.

Radio NZ reports:

Matamata-Piako District new mayor is Jan Barnes.

Mayor of South Waikato District Neil Sinclair has been returned to office.

Max Baxter is the new Mayor of Otorohanga District.

Brian Hanna is back as mayor of Waitomo District Council.

Jim Mylchreest replaces Alan Livingston who retired after many years as mayor of Waipa District Council.

Mayor of Hauraki District John Tregidga has been returned for a fourth term.

In Rotorua, former MP Steve Chadwick will take over from three-term mayor Kevin Winters with more than 98 percent of votes counted.

Queenstown Lakes District incumbent Vanessa van Uden has been re-elected as mayor, beating hopeful Al Angus, of Glenorchy, by more than 4500 votes.

Central Otago mayor Tony Lepper has been re-elected.

It was a two-horse race for Central Otago’s mayoralty, and preliminary results show Mr Lepper garnered 4416 votes, while Lynley Claridge drew 2521.

The Southland Times has full results for the province including the news that Gary Tong is the new mayor of the Southland District Council.
Sitting mayor Tracy Hicks was elected unopposed in Gore and Bryan Cadogan was re-elected mayor of Clutha.
Timaru District has a new mayor – Damon Odey.
Claire Barlow has won a second term as mayor of Mackenzie District.
Andrew Judd is the new mayor of New Plymouth after beating incumbent Harry Duynhoven.
South Taranaki Mayor Ross Dunlop and Stratford Mayor Neil Volzke both retained their chains with comfortable majorities.
Marlborough mayor Alistair Sowman has been re-elected for a fourth term.
In the Bay of Plenty:

Tauranga’s Stuart Crosby looks set to return as mayor.

Ross Paterson is mayor of the Western Bay of Plenty again.

Mark Boyle has received 3672 votes while Don Thwaites got 2275.

Tony Bonne has been elected mayor of the Whakatane district.

Opotiki voted in John Forbes as mayor of the district council.

Don Cameron is Ruapehu District’s new mayor.

Dave Cull has been returned as mayor of Dunedin.

TV3 has a list of mayors elected from north to south.

Those not already accounted for above are:


HASTINGS: Lawrence Yule

WHANGANUI:: Annette Main
MASTERTON: Lyn Patterson (new)
UPPER HUTT: Wayne Guppy
HUTT CITY: Ray Wallace

GREY: Tony Kokshoorn (unopposed)


17 Responses to And the mayor is . . .

  1. TraceyS says:

    Incumbent Jinty MacTavish and newcomer Aaron Hawkins have tweeted that they have been elected to the Dunedin City Council.

    Official results are expected soon.

  2. homepaddock says:

    Thanks for the news.

  3. Viv K says:

    Dunedin voters have re-elected a mayor who has said he is opposed to off-shore drilling and voters added Neville Peat and Green councillor Aaron Hawkins to give Jinty a bit of help.

  4. TraceyS says:

    Actual numbers are not yet available but from the order listed it looks like Hilary Calvert has done very well.

  5. Viv K says:

    So her saturation coverage of billboards paid off for her then. You couldn’t go anywhere in the Dunedin area without seeing that airbrushed picture of Calvert.

  6. robertguyton says:

    Calvert’s eyes – jabba – transfixed. Figures.

  7. robertguyton says:

    Jinty! Celebrations! Go the Left – all the way!
    Hey, Jinty, I got back on. Go figure, jabs (what’s wrong with these people??

  8. robertguyton says:

    Jinty! Sweet. Go hard.

  9. Viv K says:

    The people of Southland voted Robert Guyton back on to the regional council, that’s great news! Congratulations Robert! The voting public are happy to support Green politicians, that’s good and bodes well for 2014.

  10. Viv K says:

    Statement of fact jabba. You obviously have not seen the billboard.

  11. TraceyS says:

    Congratulations to you Robert.

    I will be interested in the numbers between Cull and Calvert, Viv. I was surprised that she came in second. But that result also bodes well for Dunedin in 2014. Actually, it bodes well for Dunedin starting from Monday. The new Council is quite diverse and things should certainly be lively!

    PS. I don’t think it all comes down to the billboards. To say so is rather patronising of Dunedinites.

  12. TraceyS says:


    Calvert, 6,429

    Central Ward:

    Calvert, 3,126
    Thomson, 3,094
    Vandervis, 2,825
    MacTavish, 2,501
    Benson-Pope, 2,252

    For the rest:

    Click to access Dunedin-City-Council-2013-Triennial-Elections-Preliminary-STV-Result-Report.pdf

  13. robertguyton says:

    Thanks, Viv (and Tracey). Greens did exceptionally well across the country.
    There’s a new train coming, folks, all aboard!

  14. Paranormal says:

    I’m not sure the voting public support of political ideologies translates from local to central government. Sounds like Calvert had good support in this vote but couldn’t win an electorate seat and made it in to the big house on the list. Local elections are fought more on name recognition than anything else.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: