Thursday’s quiz

It’s your turn to set the questions again.

Anyone who poses one which stumps us all will an electronic bunch of gladioli.

12 Responses to Thursday’s quiz

  1. tiffany267 says:

    Serious question: Now that their beloved pope has resigned under suspicious circumstances, will Catholics finally stop following this ancient, evil institution?

    Silly question: What would you do if you were stuck on a deserted island *gasp* without access to the internet?

  2. Andrei says:

    Pope Benedict XVI is the pre-ememinent bishop in Christendom, perhaps the greatest theologian of the age, a gentle man of peace and great wisdom – and a light in an age of descending into darkeness and confusion.

    And while third rate reporters can file copy filled with inneuendo, smears and speculation to sell papers that will be tomorrows fish wrap the writings of Pope Benedict will endure.

  3. Andrei says:

    Other important Bishops of Christendom

    Can you name the current

    (1) Ecumenical Patriarch and give his full title

    (2) Patriarch of Moscow

  4. Alwyn says:

    1. I believe it is “The Ecumenical Patriarch of the Eastern Orthodox Church”. I’ve no idea of his name.
    2. That is Patriarch Kirill (spelling?)
    I remember it because when I first saw it I thought it was Krill and I had the thought that he might only serve as food for the whale that is The Roman Catholic Church. Yes I know it’s silly but the mind makes strange, and sometimes unforgetable associations.

  5. Alwyn says:

    Contiuing the Religious theme.

    The Archbishop of Canterbury and the Archbishop of York are both referred to as The Primate of “something”.
    What are the (different) “somethings”?

  6. Andrei says:

    For (1) Not even close to the required answer

    (2) Yes Kirill or to be precise Kirill I, Patriarch of Moscow and all the Rus is the answer

  7. Andrei says:

    I do know their names and would have avoided the trap lurking to catch the unwary had that been the question.

    And I do know the answer to this – but I can’t write it here ’cause I cheated and also know now that the reason for this goes right back to a dispute between Canturbury and York dating from the days of William the conqueror.

    Good one!

  8. tiffany267 says:

    I’m a bit gullible, darling, and I can’t tell if you were trolling or you actually somehow have respect for Catholicism (or Christianity in general). Since I’m being slow, would you kindly explain? Thanks!

  9. Alwyn says:

    @tiffany267
    Who are you adressing this question to?

  10. tiffany267 says:

    Andrei, the one who responded to me earlier in the comments section.

  11. Andrei says:

    I suppose Tiffany in the little bubble you inhabit everybody, just everybody dear, knows without question that Pope Benedict XVI is more evil than Pol Pot and Robert Mugabee combined.

    But outside that bubble there a more than a Billion Catholics who hold him in high regard for who he is and what he has done and acheived – gets up the nose of the post modern who find that their slippery truths slip by those who hold to the eternal truths and don’t go along with whatever wacked idea from the twilight zone the progressive crowd are trying to inflict on world this week in the name of “progress”.

  12. tiffany267 says:

    LOL most of the time religious people make me angry, but your comment is so absurd it just made me laugh.

    Oh, and darling I’m not post-modern. I’m just a rational individual. Of course, reason is quite foreign to Catholicism, so I wouldn’t expect you to understand.

    Have a nice day, though!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,163 other followers

