The Peacock of Motherhood

It’s Mothers’ Day on Sunday which prompted this choice for Friday’s poem.

The Peacock of Motherhood by Anna Jackson comes from Swings + Roundabouts, poems on parenthodd edited by Emma Neale.

The Peacock of Motherhood

This is the gift my son gave me,

strutting through my life, tail dragging,

perching on everything I do and as soon

as my back is turned, jumping down

with a thud and a cry, following me.

 

The pea-hen of girlhood

makes n sound now, sleeps

undisturbed. I can hardly remember

so brown a bird; if I try to think

up flashes the tail

 

of motherhood to distract me.

I remember she was as brown as thought.

But the peacock has found other cocks

to flash his tail at; the peacocks

of motherhood are strutting

 

at the school gates, the gifts

our sons gave us. The birds strut

and preen, flash their tails,

while the mothers smile

till the bell goes.

   – Anna Jackson –

Leave a comment