Young holds New Plymouth

National’s Jonathon Young has held New Plymouth  after the counting of special votes.

His election night majority of 314 was whittled down to just 100.

Had he lost the seat it wouldn’t have made a difference to the number of National MPs because he’d have been replaced by Conway Powell, who stood for the party in Dunedin South, who is next on the list.

The make-up of parliament will be confirmed when the result of all special votes is announced at 2pm tomorrow. 

If another party gains a seat then Cam Calder, the last National MP to gain a list seat, will lose his.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: