Saturday soapbox

Saturday’s soapbox is yours to use as you will – within the bounds of decency and absence of defamation. You’re welcome to look back or forward, discuss issues of the moment, to pontificate, ponder or point us to something of interest, to educate, elucidate or entertain, to muse or amuse – and to support #gigatownoamaru .

One of the penalties for refusing to participate in politics is that you end up being governed by your inferiors - Plato.

18 Responses to Saturday soapbox

  1. TraceyS says:

    A little while ago Viv commented at Homepaddock that her Great Uncle, who was a prominent Dunedin businessman, would have been offended by the term “Tartan Mafia” referring to successful businesspeople in Otago. She was also clearly offended by the colloquial term “Green Taliban” referring to the Green Party.

    Something that I wanted to say at the time but didn’t was that my Great-great Grandfather was a prominent Aucklander (although not in business). Naturally I didn’t know him, but I think it unlikely (looking at his descendants, some of them prominent Aucklanders/North Islanders) that he’d have been the slightest bit offended by similar terms when used benignly.

    The conclusion I draw is that people are much “softer” today than they were in the past. Do others here agree?

    And does anyone who has read recent comments at robert.guyton.blogspot.co.nz agree that Viv, Robert and AC should just harden up, rather than give up?

  2. willdwan says:

    Well, personally I don’t miss them. I neither know nor care what they are up to now, but I disliked their sneering contempt and Robert’s mocking visage. And coming from an Austrian Economics/Libertarian viewpoint I found their dictatorial ideas too alien to even engage with. But I do not believe anyone could truly take offense at the mild banter you get round here. Their objections are just a form of manipulative bullying. An attempt to shut down opinions they don’t like through guilt.

  3. homepaddock says:

    People are free to come and go, comment or not.

    Politics can arouse strong feelings but the rare edits or deletions are I’ve made have all been for personal abuse.

  4. Mr E says:

    My view. Their are times that I have viewed their behaviour as bullying. Not all of them but some. Often they use insinuation as a weapon with ‘read between the lines messages’ hurtful.
    My behaviour has been influenced by that and quite frankly, my persona on blogs is quite different to that of face to face. I try to be as fair as possible but often find myself lowering to meet others tactics.
    I believe I am the toughest judge of what I write. Those with more experience than me tell me “that’s blogging, if you can’t stand the heat, get out of the fire”. I’m still here and happy to be. Not always completely proud but learning and growing. Now days I look forward to more constructive debates. I look forward to people helping me with curious questions I have, rather than defending those without a voice.

  5. Suz says:

    Gosh Tracey, why are you trying to summon up anti comments here, rather than at the offending blog?? Particularly since the host has specifically mentioned that he hoped you’ll accept his invitation to voice your opinions…why come bleating back here?

  6. Andrei says:

    When we have a problem why is it that political lightweights always think the solution are new laws and new offenses that can see people locked up?

    You cannot fix the world this way – indeed you can only make it more dis-functional.

    Still what can you expect from the clueless ninnies in the beehive

  7. TraceyS says:

    Gosh Suz, why would I accept the invitation? Maybe if the host considered me capable of “clever argument” I would think about it.

  8. TraceyS says:

    They are being activists and no one should be offended by that alone. But why do they seem to find it so hard to accept that there are not just red/green activists but blue ones as well? (my innocent/curious question hopefully someone can help with).

  9. Mr E says:

    I believe the term to be “blinkered” Tracey. A term I have refused to use to date. Oddly it seems fitting in their absence.

  10. Armchair Critic says:

    I’ve not given up, Tracey. What made you think I had?

  11. TraceyS says:

    Doesn’t give them a monopoly on activism.

  12. TraceyS says:

    Nice to hear from you AC.

  13. Armchair Critic says:

    I’m having a holiday before the christmas holidays, so I intend to only comment in response to the silliest posts and comments here, until I get back.
    You’ll have to rely on each other, or hope some new commenters turn up, in order to get some decent dissent. Though, based on their behaviour, I suspect most of the commenters would be happy for this blog to turn into a tired and boring tory echo chamber.

  14. Judge Holden says:

    An odd way for you to describe mighty topless horseride manly man Putin, given how much you love the guy.

  15. Mr E says:

    Who are the Tory’s you refer to AC?
    It’s a genuine question. I don’t know which people you are fitting with this label.

  16. Armchair Critic says:

    It’s interesting that you’ve not mentioned the “tired and boring” or the “echo chamber” parts, Mr E. I thought they were the real perjorative terms.
    With regard to your question, the answer is clear from the context of my comment.

  17. TraceyS says:

    “…the solution are new laws and new offenses…” which always come after the horse has already bolted and I suppose that’s why they don’t “fix the world”. It’s too late the world has already changed.

    http://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/mind-my-money/200809/does-financial-regulation-protect-investors

  18. Mr E says:

    Obvious, maybe? Not obvious to me. Why do you not want to name those you were referring to? I wonder.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,276 other followers

