What’s in a number?

Monkey with Typewriter is discouraged by a lack of feedback so has written his last post.

I’m sorry because I enjoy his satirical view.

Some of the fun in blogging is the feedback and it’s easy enough to count comments but it’s harder to gauge readership because some people check blogs through RSS readings rather than visits. And while I won’t pretend to understand how Alexa gets its numbers I’ve noticed they don’t seem to have any correlation with the Sitemeter stats.

In spite of a ranking of 12 in Half Done’s February blog ranking,  and a rise of three to 12th in Tumeke’s January ranking ,  Homepaddock is at 23 in Open Parachute’s rating   and I could be upset by the apparent fall or happy to be so high when there’s hundreds of NZ blogs around.

But what stands out for me is not the places but the difference between them. If you look at the gulf between Kiwiblog’s well-deserved grasp on the top spot and compare the numbers of visitors, posts and comments that keep him there with mine I’m just paddling in the shallows.

That doesn’t matter to me. I enjoy the feedback and appreciate comments, I also check visitor stats now and then and like it when they increase but if my blogging depended on numbers of either or both I’d have given up months ago.

UPDATE: MWT fans can relax, the monkey has had second thoughts.

4 Responses to What’s in a number?

  1. Ele, you’re still the top Worldpress.com blog in New Zealand — that’s something to hold on to.

  2. macdoctor01 says:

    MWT fans can relax, the monkey has had second thoughts.

    This assumes Monkey had first thoughts… :-)

  3. Paul says:

    Hi Homepaddock, I am one of the daily visitors to your blog who has never commented but please don’t think that I don’t read and value your rural/right musings and news. Keep up the great and much valued work.

  4. What’s frustrating to me is doing my homework, writing what I believe to be a provocative piece, ASKING for feedback and being met with absolute silence.

    If I was blogging solely from vanity I wouldn’t mind so much, but what I want is to foster discussion.

    But I did just specifically ask why comments were rare and am actually receiving useful info:

    http://tabulacrypticum.wordpress.com/2009/05/01/fishing-for-feedback/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,277 other followers

